Aussie label ‘Plastic World’ puts together first ever compilation album

It looks like you're using an ad blocker. That's cool! We get it :)
You can support us by sharing this story or following us on Facebook.

Back to Top

Aussie label ‘Plastic World’ puts together first ever compilation album

Words by Sarah Tonkin.

Electronic label Plastic World is home to some of Australia’s finest and forward-thinking producers including Alba, GLHugo FrederickRetiree, Tuff Sherm, Cassius Select and a whole bunch more.

The label boasts a versatile selection of releases since first starting up in 2013 and to celebrate their three year mark in motion, they’ve done us the favour of putting together a compilation album featuring sixteen unreleased tracks from artists such as Silent Jay & Jace XL, Sampa The Great and Tim Shiel just to name a few.

Label co-founders James McInnes (former Future Classic) and Vic Edirisinghe (Astral People) spoke out after the release, stating “This compilation is designed to promote everything we love about Australian music. It’s a summation of our tastes as music lovers and is about approaching music with an open mind and understanding that music is the most universal language. We hope to help those that inspire us day to day by giving them a platform to showcase their music on a greater scale – this is the true fundamentals of Plastic World.”

“The first track from the compilation comes from the label’s most recent signing, The Possé, and is their track ‘MS-DOS’. Performing as a live five-piece, Andrew Elston (Physique/Toni Toni Lee/Catcall), Ross Ferraro & Jarrol Renaud (AKA The Goods), Michael Di Francesco (Touch Sensitive/Van She) and NZ jazz keys prodigy Andrew Bruce, deliver funk and disco with the beat of soulful Detroit and Chicago house.” 

Have a listen to MS-DOS below.

Plastic World‘s first ever compilation is due to be released on Thursday August 18th.


1. ‘Tides’ – Silent Jay & Jace XL
2. ‘Wonderland’ – Sampa the Great
3. ‘My Way 2 U’ – Young Spice
4. ‘Cosmos’ – Vulture St Tape Gang
5. ‘Love Rain Down’ – Mondo Freaks
6. ‘MS-DOS’ – The Possé
7. ‘Night Rider’ – Spvrs
8. ‘Pipe Dreams’ – Opal E
9. ‘Why Aren’t You Dance’ – Lizprom & Nite Fleit
10. ‘Ideal (2014)’ – Sam Weston
11. ‘Universal Soldier’ – Hugo Frederick
12. ‘4G Swirl’ – Thomas William
13. ‘Laserdisc’ – Kane Ikin
14. ‘Mind Drone feat. Aphir (Ambient mix)’ – Tim Shiel
15. ‘Kings Hwy Bwood’ – Dreems
16. ‘Efforts’ – BODY CORP.

You can Pre-order the compilation now.


Related Posts