Toro Y Moi shares vibrant music video and reveals new album!

It looks like you're using an ad blocker. That's cool! We get it :)
You can support us by sharing this story or following us on Facebook.

Back to Top

Toro Y Moi shares vibrant music video and reveals new album!

Toro Y Moi has revealed he has a new album on the way, an announcement that came paired with the release of a vibrant new music video for the album’s lead single ‘Girl Like You’.

The Berkeley based artist – who has officially changed his name from Chaz Bundick to Chaz Bear – made the news of his forthcoming album public over the weekend, an album titled ‘Boo Boo’ that is set to drop on July 7th via Carpark Records.

Speaking on the coming project in a statement, Chaz claims he found inspiration from the likes of Travis Scott, Daft Punk, Frank Ocean and Oneohtrix Point Never among others. He also went into detail on the motivation behind the record, particularly coming to terms with where he is in his career right now. Read the full statement below.

After 7 years of touring and recording, I found myself becoming self conscious about my position in life as a “famous” person, or at least my version of whatever that is. My dreams had become my reality, yet I was somehow unable to accept this new environment. I couldn’t help but fall into what might be described as an identity crisis. A feedback loop of fearful thoughts left me feeling confused. I felt as though I no longer knew what it was that I actually wanted and needed in and out of life, and at times I felt unable to even tell what was real.

By the time I felt ready to begin working on a new record, I knew that this idea of space within music would be something that propelled my new work forward. The artists that were influencing what I was making included everyone from Travis Scott to Daft Punk, Frank Ocean to Oneohtrix Point Never, Kashif and Gigi Masin. I recognized that the common thread between these artists was their attention to a feeling of space, or lack thereof. I decided that I wanted to make a Pop record with these ideas in mind. That idea for a record is what eventually became Boo Boo.

Pre-order Boo Boo right here. Check the music video for ‘Girl Like You’ below, along with the album tracklist and album art.

Toro y Moi Boo Boo tracklist:

1. Mirage
2. No Show
3. Mona Lisa
4. Pavement
5. Don’t Try
6. Windows
7. Embarcadero
8. Girl Like You
9. You and I
10. Labyrinth
11. Inside My Head
12. W.I.W.W.T.W.



Related Posts