DJ Shadow Releases “Reconstructed”
Back to Top

DJ Shadow Releases “Reconstructed”

In this inundated world of moment-to-moment hit tracks churned out by 15-minute famers, it’s a rare feat for artists to maintain thriving careers across decades. Only those who are able to deconstruct and reconstruct themselves remain afloat amid the wreckage of one-hit wonders.

One such entity is DJ Shadow, aka Josh Davis, who first made tidal waves in the industry with his 1996 debut album Endtroducing… which revealed his genius for sampling and brought a fresh perspective on instrumental hip-hop infused electronic music.

With 20 years behind him and 1 shadow sphere later, he has compiled the best of his work into four collections, released September 25th through Universal Music Enterprises. Reconstructed: The Best of DJ Shadow lives on one single CD and double vinyl, while Reconstructed: The Definitive DJ Shadow is the coveted multi-disk box set with only 500 copies in existence, each signed personally by Shadow and available exclusively from his website, containing 8 discs, 1 x 12” vinyl record, a booklet featuring an essay by acclaimed music writer Dave Tompkins, and exclusive photos from B+, long time Shadow collaborator.

For those lucky few Shadow addicts who claim a precious copy of The Definitive collection, hold onto that piece of history, going for £170.00 / €215.00 / $270.00. As Davis said himself, “It’s never an easy task to sum up a career in one release, but this box comes pretty close. This is the definitive, final document of the sound I’m most known for.”

Amongst the classics we know and love by this “sonic Merlin” (as NPR called him), there’s also 2 new tracks, including “Listen” featuring the voice of Terry Reid.

What’s your favorite Shadow song?

Tracklisting for all formats:

Single CD:

1. Midnight in A Perfect World
2. High Noon
3. I’ve Been Trying
4. This Time (I’m Gonna Try it My Way)
5. You Can’t Go Home Again [Radio Edit]
6. Scale it Back (Feat. Little Dragon) [Single Edit]
7. Listen (Feat. Terry Reid) [Previously Unreleased]
8. Stem [Single Edit]
9. Six Days
10. Won’t You Be [Previously Unreleased]
11. Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul)
12. Lonely Soul (Feat. Richard Ashcroft) [7″ Version]
13. Blood on the Motorway
14. You Made It (Feat. Chris James)
15. Redeemed
16. Dark Days (Main Theme)


Disc One

Side A
1. Midnight in a Perfect World
2. High Noon
3. I’ve Been Trying
4. This Time (I’m Gonna Try it My Way)

Side B
1. You Can’t Go Home Again [Radio Edit]
2. Scale it Back (Feat. Little Dragon) [Single Edit]
3. Listen (Feat. Terry Reid) [Previously Unreleased]
4. Stem [Single Edit]

Disc Two

Side A
1. Six Days
2. Won’t You Be (Previously Unreleased)
3. Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul)
4. Lonely Soul (Feat. Richard Ashcroft [7″ Version]

Side B
1. Blood on the Motorway
2. You Made It (Feat. Chris James)
3. Redeemed

Box Set:

Disc 1: Entroducing…
Disc 2: Entroducing… Bonus Disc (Rarities and B-Sides)
Disc 3: The Private Press
Disc 4: The Outsider
Disc 5: The Less You Know, The Better
Disc 6: The Best of the Rest (Bonus CD)
1. Listen (Feat. Terry Reid) (Previously Unreleased)
2. Won’t You Be (Previously Unreleased)
3. Lost and Found (S.F.L.)
4. Hindsight
5. Skullfuckery (Feat. The Heliocentrics)
6. Hardcore (Intrumental) Hip-Hop
7. Divine Intervention (Feat. Divine Styler)
8. Lonely Soul (Feat. Richard Ashcroft) [7″ Edit]
9. High Noon
10. Dark Days (Main Theme)
11. Camel Bobsled Race (DJ Shadow Mix by Q-Bert)
Disc 7: Live From Glasgow 2011
Disc 8: (DVD) In Tune and On Time

Box Set 12″:

Side A
1. The Number Song (Cut Chemist Party Mix)
2. Be There (Feat. Ian Brown) (Underdog Mix)
3. Six Days (Remix)

Side B:
1. Enuff (DJ Fresh Remix)
2. I Gotta Rokk (Irn Mnky Swaager Mix)
3. Scale it Back (Kev Willow Remix)


Related Posts