Modeselektor tap Actress, Lone and more for new compilation

It looks like you're using an ad blocker. That's cool! We get it :)
You can support us by sharing this story or following us on Facebook.

Back to Top

Modeselektor tap Actress, Lone and more for new compilation

Monkeytown and the good fellas down at Ninja Tune bring to you the latest in big releases called ‘Modeselektion, Vol. 04’ spanning from artists Roxymore to Pedermannerfelt, FJAAK and many many more . The four releases take you on an audio journey through finely crafted sounds and upcoming songs of Brainwaltzera, Actress, Lone and Solid Blake which comes from a selection of future releases of all 17 tracks on June 1st.

Brainwaltzera’s ‘Vodiga’ has a fm synthesizer to bring those raspy frequencies to accompany the whispy hats and chord stabs that rhythmically speeds up appropriately in a finishing echoes for the end of the song. Actress’ ‘Watercolour’ is filled with atmosphere that fills the audio spectrum throughout the track and combines with an intricate melody and percussion leaving you feeling content. Chords and what sounds like morse code, starts the track right in Lone’s ‘Smoke Signals’, followed by an infectious bass line to carry the track nicely has you knowing that why this song was selected. Solid Blake finishes the compilation with a fast paced and intricately timed rhythm in her instrumental track ‘Masha’.

The collection of tracks comes from inspiration from Modeselektors thumping DJ sets from around the world. Coming directly from the mouths of the Berlin duo they say, “The choice of tracks is influenced by our thirst for effective dance music. After almost four years of touring with Moderat, we really felt the urge to dedicate ourselves again to what made us.” The two are creating a track which will be in the compilation, being their first since 2015.

Fm synthesis, boundary pushing and genre bending is the name of the game through a Modeselektion compilation, so jump in and let us know your thoughts and eagerly await the full release with us June 1st!


01. Brainwaltzera – ‘Vodiga’
02. Actress – ‘Watercolour Challenge’
03. Claude Speeed – ‘A Different Point Of View’
04. Lone – ‘Smoke Signals’
05. Kasper Marott – ‘Metaxas Carnival (Tandoori’s Voodoo Mixx)’
06. rRoxymore – ‘Cosmopolitanism’
07. Rødhåd – ‘Blacksmith’
08. Peder Mannerfelt – ‘Sectional Healing’
09. Radio Slave – ‘Introduction’
10. Vatican Shadow – ‘Desert Father (Modeselektor Edit)’
11. Modeselektor – ‘Kalif Storch’
12. Lory D – ‘ob.bx-n’
13. FJAAK – ‘Matte’
14. Solid Blake – ‘Masha’
15. Skee Mask – ‘Lil DB Tool’
16. Sarah Farina & Yo van Lenz – ‘Peace Dub’
17. Fadi Mohem – ‘Endless’


Related Posts