M83 announces new album inspired by classic video games, 80’s sci-fi and ambient greats

It looks like you're using an ad blocker. That's cool! We get it :)
You can support us by sharing this story or following us on Facebook.

Back to Top

M83 announces new album inspired by classic video games, 80’s sci-fi and ambient greats

French producer M83 has announced a new album that was inspired by classic video game soundtracks, 80s sci-fi film and the works of early ambient producers including Brian Eno and horror expert John Carpenter.

The album, ‘DSVII’ is the follow up to his ambient album ‘Digital Shades Vol 1’ that was released way back in 2007 (and received a decent feature on Pitchfork) and will feature fifteen tracks of analog goodness that were recorded Gonzalez’s studio in Los Angeles between 2017 and 2018.

“During the summer of 2017, I spent five months in Cap d’Antibes, France. I mainly spent my time swimming in the Mediterranean Sea, reading, watching films and playing ’80s video games. The inspiration behind this record is mainly video game music. It felt so refreshing to play all of these old school games again. There is something so naive and touching about them. It’s simple and imperfect. And this is exactly what I tried to achieve with DSVII.” – M83

While it’s unlikely to be in the same world as his sonic masterpiece that was ‘Hurry up We’re Dreaming’ it’ll be a really interesting and slightly challenging collection of tracks that’ll please fans of ambient and vintage video game sounds!

DSVII Tracklist:

1. Hell Riders
2. A Bit of Sweetness
3. Goodbye Captain Lee
4. Colonies
5. Meet The Friends
6. Feelings
7. A Word of Wisdom
8. Lune De Fiel
9. Jeux D’Enfants
10. A Taste of the Dusk
11. Lunar Son
12. Oh Yes You’re There, Everyday
13. Mirage
14. Taifun Glory
15. Temple of Sorrow

M83s ‘DSVII’ drops September 20th. In the meantime dive into the full ‘Hurry Up We’re Dreaming’ album below to get you in the mood.


Related Posts